Receiver Advice for SVS Ultra Tower System

R

Roxiehalo

Audiophyte
Hi,
Looking for some advice on an appropriate receiver to power the SVS Ultra Tower System. I've done a bit of research, but I'm fairly new to this. I have a 5.1 system that was just a super cheap Onkyo package from several years ago, so I'm just kinda looking to replace everything (transition to the bedroom most likely). My end goal is to upgrade over a few years to end up with a 7.1.4 system, so I'd like some headroom in whatever I get or I wouldn't be opposed to buying an external amp to power the towers further down the road. I did buy a SVS PB-2000 about a year ago, which is what opened my eyes to the kind of sound I was missing with my current setup. I was looking at Denon avr-x4500h (knowing I'd need an amp later)/x6500h, but these were just based on perceived value/quality and seemed like they'd be able to handle a decent volume level. Thanks!

AcuDefTechGuy

AcuDefTechGuy

Audioholic Jedi
Usually comes down to Yamaha 2080-3080, Marantz 6013-7013, Denon 4500-6500, or Anthem 720. :D

If you’ve had great success with a particular brand, then probably stick to it.

Some people get excellent results with Marantz and Denon Audyssey XT32 like @sven1olaf and @PENG.

Some get excellent results with Yamaha YPAO + PEQ like our leader Gene.

Some get excellent results with Anthem ARC.

If you don’t care for any kind of auto room EQ, then it doesn’t matter.

sven1olaf

sven1olaf

Audioholic
Usually comes down to Yamaha 2080-3080, Marantz 6013-7013, Denon 4500-6500, or Anthem 720. :D

If you’ve had great success with a particular brand, then probably stick to it.

Some people get excellent results with Marantz and Denon Audyssey XT32 like @sven1olaf and @PENG.

Some get excellent results with Yamaha YPAO + PEQ like our leader Gene.

Some get excellent results with Anthem ARC.

If you don’t care for any kind of auto room EQ, then it doesn’t matter.