RBH Signature SV-61R Bookshelf Speaker Review

K

Kursun

Enthusiast
You can't believe that? I can, because the crossover circuit is simply well-designed, as can be seen from the performance measurements, and if an electrolytic cap was chosen for the crossover, that is probably because it was the best part for the job.
The only time electrolytic capacitors are used in crossovers is purely economic.
Because electrolytic capacitors are dirty cheap.

AcuDefTechGuy

AcuDefTechGuy

Audioholic Jedi
Yes I am a speaker designer.
If you don't know why electrolytic capacitors shouldn't be used than you don't know anything about audio.
Electrolytic capacitors shouldn't be used in signal paths in audio as they produce more distortion.
They should only used for power supply filtering purposes.

BTW electrolytic capacitors work in circuits as long as they have polarizing DC on them.
Without DC they have short llifespan.

Before answering any post,
First LEARN! LEARN! LEARN!
I didn't ask if you were a "designer".

Heck, everyone here knows I am a "singer", but that doesn't mean I have recorded albums with any record studios or have done concert tours.

I asked if you worked as a speaker engineer (like perhaps have the title of "Chief Speaker Engineer") for an ACTUAL SPEAKER COMPANY for the past 30 years or so.

If so, what is the speaker company for whom you worked for all these years?

And what engineering degree did you earn?

Last edited:
S

Shane Rich

Audioholics Approved Vendor