Razer Kraken Pro V2 vs Dt990 pro. Not impressed?!?!?!

M

ManosMax13

Audiophyte
So here's the situation.I have been using the razer kraken pro v2 for 2 years now.Very comfortable and I like the sound of it.Unfortunately, the earcups of the Razer Kraken pro were torn from the usage and the sponge is out and I also cant find replacement earcups so i had to buy a new pair of cans.After looking around I was going to buy either the sennheiser hd600,the akg k712pro or the dt990.When I went to a store to try them out I was only allowed to test them with my phone so there was almost no difference and the volume was VERY low.I was not able to try the akg at all.The sennheiser was too quiet for me to understand anything and the dt990 pro seemed neutral.Then I tried the Meze Audio 99 Neo,and it was very loud using the phone as it is only 32 ohms and I enjoyed the "fun" aspect in the sound of it.Now I am using not for long as an amp/dac a blue yeti mic that offeres better quality audio than the built-in mobo chip.But the dt990 pro in 100% volume are half as loud as the kraken at 50% volume. My father does not know anything about sound advised to get the 990pro and an amp just because if something breaks down the road I dont have to replace the whole thing(I can buy new amp/dac or headphones if one of em breaks).However I have noticed that i DONT really like the music of the dt990 pro,that might be because of the lack of an amp/dac like the fiio e10k that I was planning to buy.Should I spend more money buy an amp and then I will see the big difference that I was expecting or should I return the headphones and buy the 32ohm Meze Audio 99 Neo and use it without an amp.

Dt990 pro + 100 amp/dac combo=230euros.
Meze Audio 99 Neo without amp=250 euros (I dont mind spending 20 more euros to enjoy a better sound

Thanks for reading this big thread,
Manos

BoredSysAdmin

BoredSysAdmin

Audioholic Slumlord