Question on types of Techflex

B

boe

Audioholic
I just wanted to make absolutely sure I get the right types since I'm a complete newbie on cabling. I like the slippery cloth like look and feel of the audiquest cables. I'd like some good ones that don't cost a fortune but have a high quality feel to them. I believe the techflex offered by most companies is the PET which is more plastic like. Could someone please give me the real facts since all I'm doing is stating my guesses.

Thanks

PS for anyone who cares I will be putting them on Canare 4S11 Cable if that has some bearing on this post.

Last edited:
mtrycrafts

mtrycrafts

Seriously, I have no life.
boe said:
I just wanted to make absolutely sure I get the right types since I'm a complete newbie on cabling. I like the slippery cloth like feel of the audiquest cables. I'd like some good ones that don't cost a fortune but have a high quality feel to them. I believe the techflex offered by most companies is the PET which is more plastic like. Could someone please give me the real facts since all I'm doing is stating my guesses.

Thanks

It is interesting that you would buy a speaker cable for their feel quality. New one on me ;)
If you want feel, you may have to pay for it. Cable for me is not to be seen after installation. Best out of sight, out of mind. It certainly is not affecting the sonic quality.

N

nm2285

Senior Audioholic
I prefer to use that criteria when picking my pillows

B

boe

Audioholic
OK - I'll clarify - I want to build some cables using the Canare 4S11 but want to cover them with something to make them look better. I do understand techflex will not reduce EMI or improve the conductivity. There are areas where the speaker cable will be seen.

mtrycrafts - are you telling me you wouldn't bother to put hubcaps on your tires? They don't improve the gas mileage of your vehicle.

Last edited:
W

Willow

Audioholic Intern