S

satchmo

Audiophyte
Newbie here, could not find much info on this. Is purchasing expensive electronics online safe? I am a traditionalist, so I normally go to the local, non-chain, hifi store. Is it worth purchasing on line from a distributer who sells for less. I realize that most companies will not recognize any warranty. I noticed one yesterday who offered a 3 year warranty. What's up with that?

Anyone here purchase online please comment.

jaxvon

jaxvon

Audioholic Ninja
Well, the best thing to do for any audio equipment is to listen to it yourself and decide if you like it or not (except for cables). As you found, many online sellers are NOT authorized dealers. That said, there ARE some authorized dealers online that will allow you to take advantage of your manufacturer's warranty. If you can get a good price from an online authorized dealer, then you should be in good shape. If you have a specific place you're wondering about, you could maybe call the manufacturer and ask about their record, as well as check up with the BBB and other such places.

BMXTRIX

BMXTRIX

Audioholic Warlord
A lot of online dealers also offer 3rd party warranties. That is, a company like Philips will fix your product, no matter who made the product, if you give them some cash up front. As you may be aware of, extended warranties are one of the most profitable parts of a business and that is what you are buying. A new warranty because the manufacturer doesn't allow online sales of their product.

Would I do it? Probably not on many items. But, you can get some tremendous deals on older equipment that is outside of a warranty period anyway. eBay and audiogon.com are great places to find used gear. But, brand new stuff may cost less online, but then end up costing you hundreds of dollars of your time and headaches to go along with it if you have a problem.