U

Unregistered

I am a newbie looking for some information so if you can help me I will really appreciate it.
Ok, I don't know how people feel about Bose and their Acoustimass systems but I have owned a set ever since the late 80s and never had any complaints - then again I am not an expert on these products. Anyway, this system was the AM-5 I w/ the bass module and pair of double cubes. Just recently I came across a set of 5 brand new JEWEL CUBE speakers that I couldn't pass up. I was planning on getting the adapters (for regular wires) so that I can connect them to my receiver. I know two of them will be connected to the sub module (the old one I have) and from there to the receiver. The other three, center and rear (2) speakers I was hoping to connect directly to the receiver since it's got the connections for surround.
Will I damage the three jewel cube speakers (C,LR,RR) that will be connected to the receiver? Will I be better off buying the powered subwoofer and media center from the LIFESTYLE SYSTEMS (28 and 38) to use with the jewel cubes or just use my old sub module for the front right and left speakers and connect the surround ones directly to the receiver? I will appreciate any help w/ this. I know Bose does not sell them independently so I would have to look elsewhere since buying a complete system from them or anybody else for that matter is out of the question. I can't afford to spend $3000-$4000 on a system. Please reply to franko75@yahoo.com or in here.
Thank you.

JohnA

JohnA

Audioholic Chief
If it were me

If it was my system, I would avoid BOSE like the plague. But if you like them...it is your money. I would buy a solid set of speakers and a powered sub, you can find very nice systems for under $500. As far as damage to the speakers hooked up directly....it might happen. I was installing a set for a client and was unable to hook them up directly, it needed the crossover/electronics in the sub to make them sound "good."

U

Unregistered