Paradigm Sub Woes? SPIKE THAT SUB!

E

Eric

Audioholic
<font color='#000000'>I have noted a few folks using Paradigm PDR series subwoofers with bass issues. Having a PDR-10 myself I can validate the claims of loose/weak bass. I decided to look at my speaker and quickly found the problem: the subwoofer is sitting on slick plastic feet on top of carpet. Well, I’m no rocket scientist but quickly came to the conclusion that I need to spike that sucker.

This is an incredibly simple modification to do. There are basically three steps:

1- Plug the holes in the subwoofer enclosure.
2- Install spikes.
3- Level the speaker

To remove the feet simply grab them, twist and pull.

To plug up the four holes under those plastic feet you’ll need a 1/2&quot; dowel (for the PDR-10, measure your speaker to be sure).

You will also need some carpet spikes. Paradigm may sell a kit but I didn’t check (besides it takes awhile to get stuff from the Paradigm factory). I had some spare 5/16&quot; thread 1&quot; spikes (a good size for T-nuts on this mod) but you can buy kits on PartsExpress.com:

Carpet Spikes

Your local Hi-Fi shop will probably have some as well (maybe for free). Give‘em a ring!

I suggest the sharp narrow spikes like the 240-725 of 240-730. The bigger guys will not go through carpet as well as the “nail” like ones.

One item I noted on these kits is the threaded insert. This may be fine for new installations but I have reservations about using them on this mod. The 1/2&quot; dowel will fit the holes snuggly but may not be strong enough to support the spike. A T-Nut has a flange that can extend enough so that the teeth of the T-Nut bite into the enclosure – not the dowel.

If you decide to go the T-Nut route you’ll need to take your spikes to a hardware store and find some matching T-Nuts.

1) Cut the Dowels