D

dan_wilkinson

Audiophyte
Hi all, im fairly new to audioholics, and i have been reading some of the audio principle guides (amongst reviews etc. aswell), and i have not succeeded in finding anything from which i have been able to extrapolate how the number of ohms relates to impedance (meaning does a speaker [for example] with 4 ohms resistance have a higher or lower impedance than a speaker with 8 ohms resistance?). My speakers seem to be of a rare breed (6 Ohms) and i was curious to know what this means performance/quality wise in comparison with 8 ohm speakers. I am running these speakers off a Yamaha RX-360 RS Stereo Reciever. it says on the outputs that it has a 6 Ohms min, so i think i can safely say that the amp has the same resistance... which brings me to another question - on the back of my reciever (which i got off my brother for nothing and consequently no manual with it) it says 160Watts output. i assume this is RMS because PMPO fingures always seem to be in the thoutsands... o and there is A + B speaker outputs, so would that be per channel, or total power? btw i only use A output.

thanks in advance for your advice,
Dan

M

markw

Audioholic Overlord
You should lurk a little longer before making these assumptions.

1) The "impedance" of a speaker is calculated and expressed in ohms. The higher this number, the higher the resistance. For speakers, this is not an easily measurable figure you can get by sticking a VOM on the speaker.

This impedance figure will vary, sometimes considerably, over the audio spectrum. Going higher (more ohms) is not bad but sometimes it can dip (less ohms) to a very low level. Some speakers dip very, very low and amplifiers generally don't like low impedances and react poorly by going into the protect mode or worse. Some amps are more forgiving than others on this. Generally, you get what you pay for.