Newbie with a tiny budget and an unenthused spouse

B

bibfortuna

Audiophyte
<font color='#000000'>Hi! I'm a newbie with a tiny budget and an unenthused spouse and I'd like to have a home theatre setup. Here's my situation:

First, I have a couple low end components already: &nbsp;a Sharp 27R-S50 27&quot; TV (wedding present), and a Panasonic DVD-S35K DVD Player.

Second, I have a severly limited budget -- I have about $300 to play with. Yes, I know this won't get me anything really good, but that's what I have to work with.

Third, my wife is not excited by the idea of a bunch of &quot;ugly electronics&quot; (in her opinion) and &quot;big honkin' speakers&quot; (to her, even smallish, mid-size speakers are big).

Fourth, I'm a clueless n00b.

So, all I really need now are a receiver and speakers, right?. I suppose decent speaker wire, the Avia Guide to Home Theatre DVD, and a Radio Shack Digital SPL Meter would all be worthwhile, but then again maybe not given the price level I'm looking at. What do you think?

Given my situation, can you give me any recommendations?

The best I've been able to find with my limited knowledge and budget is the Sony HT-DDW750 Home Theater System (5.1 speakers and receiver). Non-audiophiles seem happy with it (at amazon), and the aethetics and size are acceptable with my wife. Anyone know if it's any good (relatively speaking)?

The next best I've found is the Onkyo HT-S760 but at $500 it's beyond my reach (although I'm sure it would be worth it).

My last question is: what types of speaker wire do I need? What brand(s) do you recommend? My TV has a coax input and one set off RCA inputs. My DVD has one set of RCA outputs, one set of component (video only?) outputs, and one S-video ouput.

TIA for your help!</font>

Rip Van Woofer

Rip Van Woofer

Audioholic General
<font color='#000000'>Quick answers:

1) Buy used. Bargains abound. A two or three year old receiver from a reputable maker wlll be audibly identical to anything current.