Newbie needs help with type of interconnects

T

TheSting

Audiophyte
<font color='#000000'>I'm pretty new to the finer details of sound systems (just recently started earning my own paycheck)

Family's getting a new place, and I was thinking of running wires around a couple of the rooms (Underneath the plastering of the walls) for entertainment systems (more for the speakers)..

Basically, I want to know what are the considerations i'll need to know.
1) What type of wires I should be laying in the walls?

2) How I should end the wires (on both ends), in the wall sockets... so i could plug in the sound-out from the system on one end, and the speakers on the other...</font>

<font color='#008080'>You're only going to run surrounds, and remote speakers, so you can use the gold screw-down connectors found at Lowes or Home Depot. Run plenum wire, 12-14 gauge wire behind the walls. Plenum means fire-rated so it's legal. Be sure not to have it run parallel with any electrical cable.

Be aware that you need TWO connectors (red/black) for EACH SPEAKER. This means that your best bet is to get creative with box-mounting those connectors. For instance, this plate cover with the proper audio connectors inserted will service only 4 speakers.

Once you poke around the connectors you'll get a feel for what I'm talking about.</font>

T

TheSting

Audiophyte
<font color='#000000'>hmmm
hey.. thanx!..
am i right to say.. if I plan to connect those larger speakers, they normally have built in amp, so I'll have to run cables with phono connectors?
but all other speakers attached to a main amp normally use the bi-wire (red black), which can use 'banana' connections??</font>

<font color='#008080'>I don't think you'll be running any speaker wire with phono connectors. All of your speakers will most likely be unpowered, unless you are purposely buying powered monitors for your house.