Newbie needs advice on amp and loudspeakers

RustBucket

RustBucket

Audiophyte
Hi all,

I need advice on what kind of amplifier and loudspeakers to buy.

I have a strange variety of players; almost all of them are ancient but still in pretty good shape. I have separate players for Vinyls, Cassettes, CDs, MP3s, etc all purchased at different times, and I'd like to continue using them.

What I do now is to connect them to an ancient Philips DR528 boombox and play through that. I've made a simple (crappy) selector which lets me pick between one of the devices and play the output of that.

I'm looking for some help on upgrading that system. I want to buy a higher quality (and louder) amplifier and a good set of loudspeakers. Can you please give me some tips on what to look for?

Also, as you would have guessed, I'm a complete newbie and I don't even know how to describe my requirements properly. If I've left out any information please tell me and I'll post it (if I can :eek: ).

mtrycrafts

mtrycrafts

Seriously, I have no life.
RustBucket said:
Hi all,

I need advice on what kind of amplifier and loudspeakers to buy.

I have a strange variety of players; almost all of them are ancient but still in pretty good shape. I have separate players for Vinyls, Cassettes, CDs, MP3s, etc all purchased at different times, and I'd like to continue using them.

What I do now is to connect them to an ancient Philips DR528 boombox and play through that. I've made a simple (crappy) selector which lets me pick between one of the devices and play the output of that.

I'm looking for some help on upgrading that system. I want to buy a higher quality (and louder) amplifier and a good set of loudspeakers. Can you please give me some tips on what to look for?

Also, as you would have guessed, I'm a complete newbie and I don't even know how to describe my requirements properly. If I've left out any information please tell me and I'll post it (if I can :eek: ).