Newbie lookin to buy some new equipment!

G

Goat

Audiophyte
<font color='#000000'>Yo!
I'm new to the stereo world.

I have 1000 dollars to spend on a receiver and surround sound speakers.
It will be mainly used for music, but i will watch movies as well so speakers that will be good for both is a must pretty much.
I am interested in SACD and DVDAudio as well, but that will have to be a future purchase of SACD and DVD audio equipment.
I have a cd player already, a TEAC CD-P1120.
the system will be for a 11x11 room, but i might move it into the living room later which is significantly bigger.
i have an idea for the receiver, the Yamaha RX-V1400. im pretty intent on that one, cuz im starting to assemble my home theater system, which will include dvd player, video game systems, and a nice tv. i have NO IDEA about the speakers tho.

i guess what im asking is your opinion on the receiver, and what i should buy for speakers. the receiver is currently 550 dollars, which ive seen priced everywhere but im guessing it is bound to go down since its after xmas.

Thanks for any help or suggestions you can offer!</font>

I

im timmy

Audioholic Intern