Newbie here, monoprice or bluejeans for cables? Or, buck up for audioquest?

O

OCBrad

Audiophyte
I've got a new Samsung DLP (accepts 1080p over HDMI.....someday) with two HDMI inputs coming in the next couple of weeks. Along with it, I purchased the Denon AVR-2807 (two HDMI inputs), Denon 1720 DVD player (I decided to go inexpensive and buy a progressive scan DVD player while waiting out the Blu-ray/HD-DVD thing), panamax 5100 power conditioner (I know, probably overkill, but...looks good in the rack and can only do good), polk audio center chanel & 4 in-ceiling speakers (w/ directional tweeters). My sub is a 10" MartinLogan Dynamo.

I bought everything from Tweeter and they are also doing the install. Tweeter is trying to sell me the audioquest stuff which costs an arm & BOTH legs. I spent some time on the phone with an engineer at audioquest and he's done a pretty good job at selling me on their stuff. Now, with that being said.......I keep reading that monoprice & bluejeans cables will provide the same audio & video quality for a fraction of the cost (even without the silver content, RF stoppers, etc. etc.).

Note: All of my components are within 3-5 feet of each other.

1. Do any of you believe that either my video or audio quality would be any better with audioquest cables?
2. If not, should I go with monoprice or bluejeans (or another source?)? Is one higher end than the other?

Here is my list of required cables:
1 component cable (for DVD player)
2 optical (Toslink) cables
2 HDMI cables
2 RCA audio interconects (for a set of Polk Audio outdoor speakers....using "zone 2" of my receiver).

Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Brad

zildjian

zildjian

Audioholic Chief
Hi Brad,