new speakers /info overload

B

Bravo16

Audiophyte
I'm new to this ,never owned a Home theater sistem before. I know ,where have I been? I just after some basic research I bought a Harman Kardon AVR 330 .I'm looking to buy a speaker package . I went to the local Sound Advise.
store ,they sudgest Polk RTI towes wit center speaker sub and sattelites. total cost 2300 hundred .I started with a 500 dollar budget ,it looks like I have to spend more. If someone out there could give me some imput It would be apreciated .I'm looking at Wharfedale ,Aperion,Fuance ,Athena and Mission? Would like to narrow the list. Would be using sistem for home theater more than music. Room is aprox 18x17 and 10 ft high .It is in the ctr of house ,two floors,so there is entrie to formal wit 22 ft catheral ceiling and stairway to second? : What is best

N

nm2285

Senior Audioholic
The system that has been recommended to you is a good one. Athena may be the best bang for your buck in that group. Basically, since you have a large room, make sure you buy large main speakers and a large sub. A fairly large center channel wouldnt be bad either. Buy what sounds best!

U

Unregistered

sub/sat

i would not buy that polkaudio system if i were you. the main channels are 20-250 watts and your reciever is 55watts times 7. i would go for a sub/sat that has a farely robust subwoofer like the encore system. it has 4 4 inch sats. with 1 inch tweeters with a 2 4" center with a tweeter and a 600watt 8 inch sub. you could order 2 more encore sats. to complete the 7.1 system.

another choice is the velodyne deco system, audioholics did a review on that one so you can read up and see how it could fit you. 1200 watt 8 inch suboofer and 5 4inch sats. with 1 inch tweeters.

so there are a couple of choices for you to look at, the encore system will fit you budget better then the velodyne, but the velodyne will be better for a big room.

T

Tizeye

Enthusiast