New here, 2.1 speaker suggestions?

M

makken

Audiophyte
Hi guys,
I stumbled onto this forum while looking for info on speaker systems.

I know you guys deal mainly with home theatre systems, so this may be the wrong place to post it.

I'm looking for a new pair of speakers to hook up to my laptop computer. Currently, I'm using a 7 year old pair of Cambridge Soundworks, which are dying on me. I'm looking to spend around $50 for a pair

Now, I'm in a college dorm setting, so high volume isn't that much of a concern. I'll mainly use these speakers to play music in the background while i'm studying, or maybe to watch a DVD on my computer every once in a while.

These are the speakers that've I"ve been looking at: Logitech X-230, Logitech Z-3, Altec Lansing VF2221, Creative Inspire 2.1 2400, Creative T3000, and a refurbished pair of JBL Creature 2's

Right now, the two that really caught my attention are the Logitech Z3's and the JBL Creature 2's. I've heard good things about both, but I know Logitech's are a little bass heavy. The only experience I've had with Harmon Kardon / JBL is in my car, and they're a great set there.

So, what do you guys think of those two sets, and are there any others that I should be looking at?

Thanks
-Ken

mike c

mike c

Audioholic Warlord
i have the creature 2 ...

im sure i need to calibrate it first ... because i dont have the time to learn how
but as plug and play speakers, i get "hollow" sound from it

i also have the creative inspire 2400 ...

good plug and play speakers ... nice bass

and my personal favorite ... altec lansing (im still using my 45.1)

very weak bass (but good enough)
in my opinion, you're buying the brand more than the sound quality

M

makken

Audiophyte
Hey guys, sorry for not getting back for so long.

I tried out the JBL creature II's at fry's yesterday, and I did notice they did sound a bit hollow. Reminded me of laptop speakers, which is what I was trying to away from.