E

English210

Audioholic
Hello all. I'm a newbie, sort of. I was in the audio biz 25 years ago, but have been under a rock for a while. I am upgrading old gear, and building as I go. Main speakers are Infinity Kappa 7's, main amp is a Yamaha MX2 (I think - 2 channel, 125RMS). I got a deal recently on a demo Yamaha RXA3010 receiver for processing, and I'm using a PS3 for spinning all discs. I have listened to speakers, and leading the way are PSB Synchrony's. I found a pair of Synchrony S surrounds, so I'm off the mark in surround. Display is a Panny Plazma 65ST50.

I'm looking to add a sub, and upgrade amplification. I need a center, but the placement is going to be an issue with the wife, and honestly, even with the Kappa's, dialogue on movies has been pretty ok - centrally located and clear.

So, questions - Since 2-channel (music only) is a factor for me, should I have a good 2-channel amp and a separate 5 channel, and use both for movies, or just a good 7 channel?

I'm leaning towards a sealed sub that's more compact for the obvious reasons, and have looked into Hsu ULS 15 and the SVS SB13Ultra. Others have strongly advised to check out REL. I'm not sold on any one brand, and I'm not replacing a sub, so almost anything would be a '+'. The room is 12X19X8. One short wall is where the equipment is, around a fireplace. The other short wall is the entrance, just a 5X7 opening to one side, until I open up the other half to the kitchen, per wifey's request. The left long wall is solid, the right has two small-ish windows.

Musical tastes are all over the map - I have the 1812 Overture, Pink Floyd, and Celine Dion in the CD rack. I do plan to evolve into PC music (or whatever term best applies to everything stored in a hard-drive, and not storing discs), but that's way down the road.

Ideas, suggestions, recommendations welcome. My research has me looking at Outlaw, Parasound, B&K, Rotel, so 'good stuff', but not 'esoteric'.

TIA!!

theJman

theJman

Audioholic Chief