Need some help with AVR 130

A

audio_newbie

Audiophyte
Ok, I am a complete A/V beginner at his wits end. I recently purchased a Harman Kardon AVR 130 receiver and an Infinity home theater set to start off with. I already had a Samsung P721M progressive scan DVD player and a Sony 51 HDTV.

My tv has two component inputs and the AVR 130 doesn't have any. I connected the dvd player video to the component input via the proper cable on my tv and connected an optical audio cable from the dvd player to the receiver on the 'dvd optical input' jack.

Here's my problem: When I play a dvd movie, it only plays through dolby digital and I can't get it to play a dts movie in the dts format. I have checked the manual over and over and I'm not getting anywhere. I also confirmed that my dvd player is set for 'bit stream' and 'dts' is set to 'on'. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

JohnA

JohnA

Audioholic Chief
This might help

audio_newbie said:
Ok, I am a complete A/V beginner at his wits end. I recently purchased a Harman Kardon AVR 130 receiver and an Infinity home theater set to start off with. I already had a Samsung P721M progressive scan DVD player and a Sony 51 HDTV.

My tv has two component inputs and the AVR 130 doesn't have any. I connected the dvd player video to the component input via the proper cable on my tv and connected an optical audio cable from the dvd player to the receiver on the 'dvd optical input' jack.

Here's my problem: When I play a dvd movie, it only plays through dolby digital and I can't get it to play a dts movie in the dts format. I have checked the manual over and over and I'm not getting anywhere. I also confirmed that my dvd player is set for 'bit stream' and 'dts' is set to 'on'. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

This might help, or not.

This is from the manual:
Surround Mode Group Selector: Press this button to select the top-level group of surround modes. Each press of the button will select the