Need help with speaker decision

R

Riley2491

Audiophyte
I am brand new to the whole speaker business and I am trying to assemble a sound system. What I am most torn on is the speakers. I cannot decide if I should go with Paradigm atom v7 or the Elac B5. I live in a rural community in Nova Scotia Canada so getting to test things out isn't the easiest. A store near where I am from has the paradigm atoms in stock. I am in university so am on a budget and am just using summer job money to pay this stuff off, so I am just very tentative with which one I should go with. I would like to support the local store and what not, but if the sound of the Atoms is much less than probably not worth it. I will mainly be using this sound system for movies and TV but will be playing music now and again.
Thank you to anyone who helps me out!

AcuDefTechGuy

AcuDefTechGuy

Audioholic Jedi
If the Paradigm cost a lot more, I wouldn't buy them.

R

Riley2491

Audiophyte
They would cost me around the same give or take 20-30 bucks.

slipperybidness

slipperybidness

Audioholic Warlord
They would cost me around the same give or take 20-30 bucks.
Do you have an amp or AVR to drive the speakers? Have you considered that in your budget?

What is your budget?

R

Riley2491

Audiophyte
I was thinking of ordering the Denon AVR-S510BT. I just bought a 4K curved Tv and am moving into a small apartment soon. I am also open to any new ideas for different receiver. My budget is roughly 1400 I would say. I was looking at the Martin Logan Dynamo 500 sub. Store that is near me is selling it at 470 taxes in (CDN) which seems like a good deal from every where else I have seen for the same sub. As I said earlier I really don'y know a whole lot so am open to any suggestions or ideas. Thanks

AcuDefTechGuy

AcuDefTechGuy

Audioholic Jedi
R

Riley2491

Audiophyte
It doesn't hurt to audition them at your local store to see how you like them.