Need help with picking speakers and receiver (budged ~$1500)

V

VanBasten

Audiophyte
Hi,

First, I'm a total newbie so hopefully someone could point me in the right direction.
I'm looking for a home theater system that will be used for 50% movies and 50% music. Music and movies are of equal importance (I would love to hear a good reproduction of the helicopter woosh ;-))

In short, here's what I have / need:

Room dimensions:
- 20(l)x14(w)x10(h). I'll be sitting about 10-14ft away from the TV/speakers/sub. There's carpet in the room.

So far I have purchased:
- Sub: SVS SB12-NSD (400watt)
- TV: Samsung 4K JS8500

Need:
- Speakers. I think I'd like to start with a 2.1 system and maybe add surround later if needed. 5.1 would probably be max I'd want to go with.
I think I'm leaning towards bookshelf speakers since I already have a sub, and from what I'm reading I'll probably get better bang for the buck quality-wise. I just have no idea about brands, models, compatibility with receiver, sub, etc.

Connection: Do I care about optical vs RCA vs something else?
Space is adequate and could probably accommodate most systems.

Budged: probably about $1,000 for a pair, unless there's something out there that's really worth getting for few hundreds more OR something very reasonable for few hundreds less.

- Receiver. Something that works with a 4K TV (if that even matters at all) and has descent features. I've read somewhere that "Audyssey’s MultEQ XT" would be nice to have, but have no idea what that is.
Budged: probably a few hundreds max.

- Anything else I should get?

Thanks!

Last edited:
Ty Wayne

Ty Wayne

Audioholic
So you have around 1500 bucks to spend on a front L & R, and an AVR?

Check out Ascend's at ascendacoustics.com. I know you can get some Sierra 1's for around a grand/pair.