Need advice on what I should buy

P

pauldconyers

Audiophyte
Hello, newbie here and I was hoping you could help me with a recommendation here. For my home system I have a 5.1 setup. The sub is a nice 10 inch Klipsch and the 4 speakers and center channel are from a Samsung blu-ray combo I bought a while back. The volume level and sound quality is actually not too bad but music really exposes the system and I am looking to upgrade. I am not wanting to spend a lot of this, maybe $350 TOPS. Because I already have the sub I am kind of looking to buy just the 4 speakers and center channel, however if I found a good deal that came with the 5 speakers and sub I would sell one of the two subs I would then own.

A buddy of mine brought this option to my attention. The price is certainly attractive and Klipsch makes nice speakers. I hate just buying the first option I see, though. Does anyone have a specific model or option they could recommend me to check out and consider? TIA

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/klipsch-ht50-home-theater-surround-sound-system-black/6409659.p?skuId=6409659

MalVeauX

MalVeauX

Senior Audioholic
Hi,

What is your source (receiver)?
What size room?

You're not upgrading by getting 3.5" woofers in dinky cabinets.

And you probably need two subs to get good response in a room so don't be so quick to think to sell one.