Google Switches to Mac, Bans Windows Over Security Flaws

A

admin

Audioholics Robot
Staff member
Google, who employs over 10,000 people worldwide, is gradually but systematically ditching Windows across its entire company due to security concerns. According to a few sources within the company, the decision comes after news in January that Google was hacked in an attack originating in China. Those attacks used a security vulnerability in Internet Explorer for Windows. Other employees have indicated that it appears that the majority of those moving away from Windows PCs are taking up Mac OS while new hires are given the option to run Mac OS or a Linux-based machine.

Discuss "Google Switches to Mac, Bans Windows Over Security Flaws" here. Read the article.

gliz

gliz

Full Audioholic
if Apple had marketed themselves and allowed others to build hardware we'd all not know how Bill gates is. I work in IT and I am a windows guy, but I have to admit, Macs are much more stable

sholling

sholling

Audioholic Ninja
I've been in IT for 20 years or so and I have mixed feelings. Macs are more stable because the hardware is fixed. They don't have to make the Mac OS play nice with hundreds of motherboard, video card, RAID card configurations, and thousands of applications. You use the hardware that Apple supplies or perhaps one of a handful of video cards if you have an Apple workstation. And you pay twice the price of a PC for the privilege.

Back in the day Macs were notoriously hard to get to play well on a mixed network but I'm sure they've fixed that by now. So yes the Mac makes sense for a company with deep pockets to pay for hardware. However it's not inherently any more secure than Windows and hackers will not be able to resist the challenge of going after a large Mac target like Google. At best they are buying time by dumping a fortune into hardware and retraining.