Audiologic Schumakubins Loudspeaker Review

A

admin

Audioholics Robot
Staff member
As a Do-it-yourself speaker builder I have found myself wondering many times as I perused the internet’s vast sea of home speaker builder’s selections as to what some of the DIY speaker kits would sound like. Hence I decided to check out the Schumakubins which were born on the Parts Express forum utilizing their very own Dayton drivers. The Schumakubins shined with their smooth midrange and tight bass. If you are interested in building speakers but a little reluctant the Schumakubins are a great opportunity. I recommend buying the kit with the precut front baffle. You will be on your way to getting the best sound for the least amount of money and work. Kit speakers are a great and fun way to get some really good sound enjoyment and the Schumakubins are a great way to start.

Discuss "Audiologic Schumakubins Loudspeaker Review" here. Read the article.

W

wadeh911

Audiophyte
Nice to see a loudspeaker review this thorough, particularly the recognition by the author for different listening tastes. Surprised to see iron core inductors still used, what was the crossover designer's explanation for this rather than air core? Also, what happened to the sand-filled wharfendale cabinet philosophies of yesteryear?

Swerd

Swerd

Audioholic Warlord
Surprised to see iron core inductors still used, what was the crossover designer's explanation for this rather than air core?
The common belief is that air core inductors are better than any other kind for speaker crossovers is generally true, but not always. In 3-way speakers, or in this case a 2.5-way speaker, air core inductors are usually used everywhere in the crossover, except for the low-pass filter of the woofer, without significantly impacting the overall sound quality.