MQA Question From Windows PC

Cos

Cos

Audioholic Samurai
I am a complete noob which is no surprise. While I can stream my FLAC files form my NAS, I am trying to figure out how to stream TIDAL MQA to my pre/pro,

1) is there a way to send it to my Pre/Pro through my network, or do I am i better off buying a streaming device?
2) Second question, I am sure it's perceived bias, but is MQA even worth it? I think it sounds better, but there is no scientific measuring done to come to that conclusion

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
I wouldn't spend a dime on mqa, just a lossy bullshit codec IMO. You can get the same sort of content without that bullshit. You'll need special mqa enabled gear to fully unfold/unfurl their nonsense.

Cos

Cos

Audioholic Samurai
I wouldn't spend a dime on mqa, just a lossy bullshit codec IMO. You can get the same sort of content without that bullshit. You'll need special mqa enabled gear to fully unfold/unfurl their nonsense.
That's what I figured, the only devices I could find that really support it are the bluesound, which did not get good marks from ASR and the Acram Streamer. I was also confused by the fold, unfold thing. I have decent powered speakers on my desktop. Airmotiv 5s so I have done no real testing.

Cos

Cos

Audioholic Samurai

The "Google Machine" does wonders, found this interesting video on MQA

T

Trebdp83

Audioholic Ninja
If one wants to hear 24/192, or just see the numbers to feel better about it, try Qobuz. Tidal’s MQA requires the first “unfolding” in the software/streamer and the second in the DAC. If DAC does not support MQA, you will get 24/96 at best on 24/192 material.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi

The "Google Machine" does wonders, found this interesting video on MQA
I was about to link that for you :) Archimago and others have basically come to the same conclusion. I'd go with Qobuz or Amazon depending on app situation so as to get such files without the nonsense.....

T

Trebdp83