More Speaker questions

M

mtbiker

Audiophyte
<font color='#000000'>Hello,
&nbsp;As you may know, I'm new to the &quot;high quality&quot; audio/video areana. &nbsp;I'm currently looking at speakers and reciever to purchase. &nbsp;I don't quite know which way to go on speakers to get the best available sound for movies and music. &nbsp;Should I go with a smaller set of bookshelf or cube speakers for the front channels, or would I be better off to get a pair of floor standing &quot;big&quot; speakers for the front. &nbsp;My thinking is to go with the latter option so I can turn the other speakers, Center and rears, off while I listen to music, and turn them on while watching DVD's and HDTV? &nbsp;Or would the Floor speaker over power the audio while watching DVD's? &nbsp;

I'm confused at this point and don't know which way to go. &nbsp;ANy help you could lend would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Mark</font>

E

Eric

Audioholic
<font color='#000000'>Hi Mark,

AH has a very good buyers guide for speakers. Check it out here:

Speaker Buying Guide

Stay away from the cube systems.</font>

M

mtbiker

Audiophyte
<font color='#000000'>Hey Eric,
&nbsp;Thanks for the info. &nbsp;Give's me some good ammo to take with me to the store.

One dumb question? &nbsp;What's a &quot;cubed&quot; system? &nbsp;I'm assuming thats a system with all little, or bookshelf speakers? &nbsp;Is that correct?

So, would you concur that the anwser to my original question of what should I get for the best sound is to get floor speakers for the fronts and build from there?

Thanks</font>

G

<font color='#000000'>From what I know, floor speakers are far better than bookshelf speakers as they give you more power and better sound. &nbsp;If you have the space and money, I would say go for the floor speakers(tower desgin).</font>

M

Mrdecibel

Audiophyte
<font color='#000000'>Hi Mark,