Monitor Audio PL300 II vs ELAC 507 Jet. General comparision, Speaker cabinet geometry...etc

O

oren rokach

Audiophyte
Hi Guys,
I have doubts between the two.
I have heard the ELAC 507 a month ago and was very impressed.
https://www.elac.com/product/fs-507-vx-jet/

Yesterday i have being listening to Monitor Audio PL300 II, and swear to god, it almost made me cry. The sound was stunning. real smooth and rich , the shop owner had to scrap me from the couch an hour and half later (trust me, i am not a promoter of any manufacturer...)
I am the kind of guy who believe in love at first sight. so i would buy them with no second thoughts. but my only problem is their size, would be hard to fit thos giants in my living room without my wife noticing.
ELAC is much narrower, and its speaker cabinet is somehow smaller.

I am a newbie at this area, but i started to get the feeling the size of drivers and cabinet size are a major factor. physics is physics.

The bass driver of the PL300 (8 inch vs 7inch) is bigger , and mostly the speaker cabinet is much larger as well. Can i assume therefor the ELAC will have trouble sounding the same as the PL300?

Unfortunately, i can't put them both at the same room, and switch from one the other.

Insights?
Thanks!

AcuDefTechGuy

AcuDefTechGuy

Audioholic Jedi
Wow. All this time I thought Elac only sold economy speakers.

Then I saw the price of the Elac fs 509 on Amazon for $7,500 each or $15,000/pair. :eek:

I don't see any measurements for the Elac F507, but Elac website says the F3 is 26Hz. Don't know if I can believe that number. I would believe more like 36Hz.

Stereophile shows the MA PL300 F3 as 26-27Hz.

MA PL300: 13,046 cubic-in/120 lbs/ 8" x 2 woofers
MA PL200: 9,600 cubic-in/79 lbs/ 6.5" x 2 woofers
Elac 507: 8,463 cubic-in/82 lbs/ 7" x 2 woofers
Elac 509: 12,474 cubic-in/126 lbs/ 8.5" x 2 woofers

So I would estimate that the PL300 has a lot more bass than the Elac 507.