Mixing upfiring and ceiling speakers!

L

Larold

Audiophyte
Over the past few months, I’ve sort of backed into my Atmos setup. I’ve got some Klipsch components with upfiring from the L/R and ceiling speakers do the surrounds and rear Atmos. It’s 5.2.4. My Marantz SR-7011 gives me the either/or option on the Atmos.
I set the system up for upfiring and it sound good but has anyone mixed these components together? I may do a test, setting the Atmos up for ceiling and see how that sounds. I’ve been a Recording Engineer for 50 years and I know what good audio sounds like but our living room isn’t purpose built for home theater. Any ideas? I don’t want to get into phase swapping and that whole mess...I just want the system to sound as good as possible with the Audessy setup and then I may tweak it a bit.
Thanks .

ryanosaur

ryanosaur

Audioholic Overlord
I've seen some diagrams that indicate you can mix modules and ceiling speakers for Atmos. I cannot speak towards the efficacy of that. I've always heard of Ceiling speakers being preferred opposed to the modules (since the angles need to be very dialed in to get the reflected sound in the right place).
Unless I'm misreading something, what would likely hurt the atmos effect is that you mention in-ceiling surrounds. Generally, I always see the quality of the the Atmos effect being tied directly to the bed layer of your 5- or 7-channel surround speakers. those are generally accepted to need to be in place according to Dolby standards for there to be enough separation between Surround and Atmos for the Atmos effect to work.
I am definitely not an Atmos expert and will defer to any of our friends with more experience there. :)

L

Larold

Audiophyte