Mixing good speakers w/Ht in box receiver...?

W

Wendelman

Audiophyte
Hello everyone, this is my first time on the forums. I was wondering if anyone could clear up my problem. I recently got a great deal on one of those HT in a box jobs off ebay. I got a 500W Sony A/V Receiver, a seperate 5 DVD changer and a few cheap speakers for $120. All I really wanted was the receiver and DVD changer to replace my aging but terrific Yamaha Natural Sound receiver rated at 70Wx5. I quickly hooked up the new receiver to my Advent Legacy floor speakers and my Sony surrounds, along with my subwoofer. All of my anticipation turned out to be a huge let down, this receiver hardly delivers any bass to my 10in woofers in the Advents or any mid to my surrounds! Even with the bass turned all the way up, the subwoofer really provides the only bass. So I guess I was wondering if these HT in a box receivers are mainly calibrated to drive the dinky speakers that come in the package, and not true home theater speakers? I am begining to think this great deal wasn't so great after all. Any ideas? Thanks!

anamorphic96

anamorphic96

Audioholic General
What is the speaker size set to on the receiver. If its set to small you will not get the bass. Make sure you select large for the left and right. This might be the issue.

The other thing to keep in mind is the Sony receiver is only outputting 100x5. Which is only 30watts more than your Yamaha. You have to double the output to get three db more output which is not that noticeable. I would suggest selling the Sony and investing in better speakers. Yamaha makes very good receivers. The Advents are good speakers. Try mating these up with something inexpensive from the JBL Northridge series or look at some entry level Paradigm speakers from the Performance or Monitor Series.

Cheers,
Glenn

W

Wendelman

Audiophyte
Thanks for the advice