MartinLogan Motion 8 Center Channel Speaker

Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi

During my break, I wrote a review for this speaker on Amazon. The audience there probably isn't as demanding as here (although the only person to vote said it was unhelpful :eek:), so I apologize in advance for any lack of details...but I'm too lazy to rewrite it. :) I just figured that I'd share my thoughts on it with you all.

Overall, I like this speaker. It's got a nice neutral sound to it, and it's light enough to wall mount easily. Below is the original review.

----------

For reference, I have been using a set of NHT speakers since 1998 in a 5.1 set up - two pairs of 1.5 bookshelf speakers along with a AudioCenter-1. The AudioCenter-1 has about the same frequency response and sensitivity as the Motion 8 and is also a sealed design, but it's larger and heavier.

Overall, I'd say this is worthy of consideration. Because of my perception of the quality of materials used in the construction, I'm not sold on this being a standout at it's price and a clear winner - but it is certainly worth checking out if you're in the market. Below are more details.

Sound Quality:
I am quite pleased with the sound from this speaker. I could coo about the chocolatey midrange and the angelic highs, but even I wouldn't believe me. :) Subjective descriptions of speakers don't have a lot of value to me, but I'll say a few things. I like the sound because it seems crisp and clean to me (not muffled at all), and it can handle frequencies as high as I can hear quite well. I direct all frequencies below 80Hz to a subwoofer, so I haven't tested the lower end of this speaker. In short, I'd say this speaker is capable of producing the frequencies in it's range and is a great blank slate to blend into a system as described below.