Marantz SR8400 without sub

M

mrsecman

Audiophyte
Greetings,

I recently purchased a SR8400. This is the first A/V receiver that I have ever owned. How do I configure the system to send all the bass frequencies to the front speakers? I currently have the system configured with the R/L fronts as Large with "no sub". I plan to purchase a sub within the next couple of weeks.

I using a pair speakers from an old vintage Pioneer SX-850 that provides adequate bass at low volume settings and rattles the dishes at half volume. I am a newbie to HT as you can tell. My other system is a NAD 3150 :).

I listen to Jazz 65% of the time.

Thanks In Advance!

T2T

T2T

Senior Audioholic
By keeping your front speakers as "large", you are sending all of the bass to them.

Your jazz is really going to come alive when you add the sub in a few weeks, though.

anamorphic96

anamorphic96

Audioholic General
Sounds like you have done everything correctly so far. You set the mains to LARGE and no sub. Which is what you want.

When you add the sub. Turn it on and choose a crossover frequency. Sounds like a lower crossover frequency will work best due to the size of the Pioneers. Something around 60 or 80hz.

M

mrsecman

Audiophyte
There has to be something else because I hear very little bass coming from the fronts. I do noticed a difference in bass by adjusting the sub freq between 80, 100, and 120hz although I have the sub set to none. This leads me to believe the amp is not sending anything lower than 80hz to the fronts.

Believe me, you can hear a HUGE differnce in bass output between my old NAD 3150 and the 8400. You can feel the bass from the NAD or Pioneer. As matter fact my 30.00 pair of Altec computer speakers hits harder than the 8400.

Any suggestions?

Buckeyefan 1

Buckeyefan 1

Audioholic Ninja
mrsecman said: