Looking for good headphones

X

XezekielX

Audiophyte
OK I'm a total newbie when it comes to headphones so I really have no idea what I should buy. I don't want to pay more than $100 for a pair of headphones as I'm a poor student and don't have the budget to purchase more expensive phones (even $100 is a LOT to me).

Could it help if I said that I listen mainly to hardcore punk music? Maybe there are headphones out there that sound better with that style of music? I don't know...

Sorry if my question sounds pretty dumb but as I already said, my knowledge of headphones couldn't be any more limited.

Thank you very much for taking the time to read this and I'm looking forward to your suggestions!

jaxvon

jaxvon

Audioholic Ninja
So, what kind of environment will you be using your headphones in? There are different kinds, those that isolate you from sounds around you and others that are open and tend to be kinda comfy.

I notice you're from Canada, so my usual recommendation of the Sony MDR-7506 might be a tad over budget unless you can find a good price online. Others to consider might be Grado SR-60, SR-80, Sennheiser HD-280, and Shure in-ear monitors.

X

XezekielX

Audiophyte
Thanks for the answer!

I'll be using the headphones pretty much everywhere:
- on the street while walking to school (I walk 30 minutes twice a day, 5 days a week to go to school)
- at school (programming HAS to be done while listening to music ;))
- at home, while working on the computer or in my room while listening to my 7" records

Do you know any good place online to buy headphones? I know there's eBay but you never really know if you're going to get ripped off or if you're going to receive broken headphones...

Thanks again for your answer!

jaxvon

jaxvon

Audioholic Ninja