Lets get this party started.... without a tweeter

A

agusdfv

Audiophyte
Hey audio enthusiasts,

I'm a young college student living in an apartment. My flatmate & I have laid-back parties every once in a while - but until recently didn't exactly have the best hardware for it. Instead of buying 'bullsith party speakers' like my one audiophile friend terms them, I decided I should get some home theater type equipment, particularly because growing up in my parents house they had a home theater setup in one room that I remember really liking. Being on a college student budget, I went to the second-hand market and bought a pair of bookshelf speakers with an amp for $220. I thought it was a fairly good bargain. They are Acoustic research model 312 HO.

--------------------- Thing is, after the first party I noticed the sound was missing something, and after investigating, it was clear that the tweeter on the right speaker wasn't playing. So after redoing the biwiring, I did some diagnostics, grabbed a friend's voltimeter and read the voltage at the very end of the cables that connect to the tweeter (from inside the cabinet) - and it seemed there was a current when playing music. So that would indicate the tweeter itself was broken. I tried reconnecting the tweeter to this cable, and at this point I had some bad luck (or misfortune due to lack of experience and precaution) as the prongs that match the cabling ends actually broke off just like the tabs of soda cans do when you fiddle with them too much. So then I took them to my school's comp engineering lab where I tried soldering the prongs back into place... but I lost the end that broke off. It's a lost cause. Either way, it wouldn't be helpful to fix it if the tweeter is broken as I deducted. So.. what now? From word of mouth during the purchase and with my friend, it seems these were made back in the 70s.. and the company that made them, AR, isn't around anymore.