Lengthening / Splicing Question... Real Simple One! :D

C

Customone

Audiophyte
Hey all, I'm a noob poster on this site with a verrry noob question. I got a Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System for Christmas this year.. here's a link to the product...

http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/products/details/US/EN,CRID=2177,CONTENTID=9067

kk so anyway this is a VERY entry level speaker system and I intend to set it up in a room about 10 x 15 feet. The thing is that the wires included aren't long enough to place the satellites where I want them, and I just need some basic advice on lengthening/splicing... I assume I'll be voiding the warranty, which is 100% fine if thats required to lengthen the wires, but anyhoo...

So I actually don't have the unit yet and thus havn't seen it, but I'm assuming it uses that basic computer red/black 2-ply audio wire, (rca wire?)... assuming it's that stuff,

1) What type of wire should I look/ask for? Do I need to worry about gauge or should I walk into Future Shop and say: "Gimmie sum of that compu-tater speaker wire plzplz."

2) What are the proper steps for a good splice job? Where should the line be cut? How do I make sure I'm preserving the sound quality and so on?

Any input would be much appricated! :D

5.1 DTS guy

Audioholic
I have the same system for my computer, and let me tell you, these are computer speakers. From the Logitech website, you can order an adapter that converts the computer type plugs to rca plugs so you can use it for your tv, but it is not true multi-channel sound. Its basically stereo spread across 5 speakers. If you're using it for your computer, make sure you have a 6 channel sound card to take advantage of the system. And remember, this system doesn't use real speaker wire, it uses rca type wires (subwoofer cable).