Klipsh or Boston ??

S

sandeep

Enthusiast
<font color='#000000'>Hi All,
&nbsp; &nbsp;I am a newbie to the speaker world so please be patient with some of my dumb Qs.
I just commited a speaker sin( of buying booze LS28 last friday), so I want to correct it by returning the product and buy something better. Most of the forums seem to caution readers to stay away from booze and I happen to read it a day later. Long story short, I want some info about some speakers that are available in local stores, like Magnolia HiFi or Good guys. They seem to carry Boston, M&amp;K( in Magnolia) and Klipsh(good guys).
Magnolia guy suggest that I go for Boston as M&amp;K is similar but a little more expensive due to the fact that they make compact speakers. He was suggesting the following configuration:
Boston Accoustics VR1 for main speakers, Definitive ProSub 100TL for woofer, Boston VR910 for center, Boston CR65 for surround speakers. Totaling $1550 for speakers. He is ready to give about $100 discount making it $1450 for this package.

Good Guys rep was suggesting the following config:
RF25 for main, RC25 for center, RS25 for surround and RW10 for woofer. Totaling $1950. But he is ready to take away $200 from this price making it $1750. Currently, Good guys has a sale for Yamaha RXV630 receiver for $250.

Here come a salvo of Qs:
1. Do any of the packages sound OK, price wise? I heard that these speakers generally sell below MSRP. So should I buy them at a any website. If so, can you suggest a site.
2.Which would be a better package, sound/speaker quality wise?
3. Would you rather sugggest a third alternative for the same kind of money. I have a budger of $2k including a decent receiver. But I am willing to go a little above if need be.

Any help would be appeciated.</font>

Rip Van Woofer

Rip Van Woofer

Audioholic General