Just Getting Started . . . Some Advice Appreciated.

K

kodachrome

Audiophyte
first off, let me apologize. i like to type. :) a bit of an intro/story/question/advice post all wrapped into one.

Hey guys, I've been poring over the internet somewhat obsessively the past couple days and this community seems like a good place to ask a question i haven't seen answered satisfactorily even though it's been asked a couple times: nht absolute towers +sub vs the classic 3's plus sub.

I'm just starting out with the audio thing. Prior to this I had logitech 5.1, klipsch promedia 2.1 and Corsair 2.1. all from best buy or microcenter. That was my idea of a good multimedia setup.

Moreso I've been into headphones. I started with monster turbines, plain vanilla. Then i moved to turbine pro coppers, fischer audio, and finally settled on the turbine coppers and senn hd598 for mobile/at home listening. Really loved the 598. Glorious mids and wonderful soundstage, instrument separation was awesome. i love feeling of being surrounded by sound and able to pick out instruments; it gives me chills.

Fast forward a couple years, hard times, sold everything. Starting from scratch, not that i had a hifi system to begin with.

I went to a pawn america and picked up some pinnacle ac 650's after a little research on the cheap. could've had the infinity p162, i might go back and see if they're there. i picked up a yamaha htr 5550 receiver to go with it. haven't found much on it which leads me to believe it's probably garbage, but hey! it's better than nothing. the yamaha seems to be more than enough to get the speakers going.

running 16 gauge wire; oxygen free; might go larger just on principle but i've read it's really not worth it for a short run.