F

Foxrox

Junior Audioholic
IMG_1976.JPG
My Polk LSiM706c came I today. Straight out of the box it looked like this. Is this damage or is discoloration like this normal? It's not dust or any foreign material. I gently wiped to see if it would come off. Nope. The material almost appears to have been stretched beyond its limits or something. It's my first time buying such a nice speaker, so I'm wondering if there's something I'm missing. Should I return? Thanks!

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
If it bothers you, return it.

ps I wouldn't call it damage but rather an imperfection in the finish.

F

Foxrox

Junior Audioholic
I don't mind if it's just a blemish. Is it potentially an issue with performance?

NINaudio

NINaudio

Audioholic Samurai
It is definitely a cosmetic blemish. Looks to me like the wrap has come undone there or never fully attached. Should have no affect on performance. Like @lovinthehd said, if it bothers you, return it for another.

Edit: I just reexamined the picture, what I thought was a blemish appears to be a reflection. If you're talking about the discoloration on the speaker surround, I would definitely return it.

Irvrobinson

Irvrobinson

Audioholic Spartan
I'd return it. If you want to sell them someday it'll negatively affect resale value for sure.

F

Foxrox

Junior Audioholic
Yes, I apologize for the poor quality of the photo. The speaker surround is discolored nearly white on the right side of the speaker. The enclosure has no blemishes. I guess I have a lot of headache in front of me now. :(

B

Beave

Audioholic Chief
I've seen that on speakers before and wondered what it's from. I've even owned speakers that had that kind of look on woofer surrounds.

Is it possible that in production, somebody along the line polishes the cabinet by hand, with a rag/towel, and some got on the woofer surround?