Is Onkyo TX-SR602 a good receiver

R

ramesh01

Audiophyte
Hi,

I am new to HT receivers. I am upgrading my current system and am comparing the Yamaha HTR-5760 and Onkyo TX-SR602. Can some experienced people in this forum tell me which one is a good reciever from quality and sound wise. Both the receivers are around the same price ($400). The speakers I am using is Infinity TSS-450 ($300). I am building a budget HT system. From the little research I did these were the best bet. Please let me know your opinion.

Thanks

L

Leprkon

Audioholic General
ramesh01 said:
Hi,

I am new to HT receivers. I am upgrading my current system and am comparing the Yamaha HTR-5760 and Onkyo TX-SR602. Can some experienced people in this forum tell me which one is a good reciever from quality and sound wise.
Thanks
the newest Onkyo's (502 and 602) have ben taking a beating on the internet for quality control on their video sections. you might look at the 601 or 701 (last year's models) and get a better price on a more reliable piece.

if you have a good dealer or don't run video through the receiver, this might not be a problem for you.

R

ramesh01

Audiophyte
Thanks. Is the Yammie HTR-5760 better than Onkyo tx-sr602?

L

Leprkon

Audioholic General
ramesh01 said:
Thanks. Is the Yammie HTR-5760 better than Onkyo tx-sr602?

in my opinion, the Yammie will have better HT stuff, and the Onkyo will do alot more with computer-based sound.

D

dr.hug

Enthusiast
Yes it's good

I have owned both the yamaha ( RXV800 and the RXV1400) and the onkyo 501 I bought for my friend and the 801 for myself)

To the previous poster....You never heard them So your not helping. :mad:

The sound for yamaha is what some would say is bright. ( this has to also do with the speakers that you are using) The options and flexability all great. but in reality you will find you only use 3 or 4 at the most