I'm building a 2way speaker project...but.....

T

taatoo

Audiophyte
hi, i'm a newbie, i'm trying to build a 2-way speaker project. i decide to use VIFA's XT25 as 1" tweeter, but i don't know what's that mid-low speaker. It is 5". what' about VIFA's P13WH-00-08? ANY suggestion?? THANK YOU!!!

PS: i've seen this below:
"Respondents who've heard XT25 and measured it tell me its distortion numbers could be lower and that it likes a high crossover frequency, more suited to a 3-way than a 2-way design"
is that true??

Swerd

Swerd

Audioholic Warlord
taatoo said:
hi, i'm a newbie, i'm trying to build a 2-way speaker project. i decide to use VIFA's XT25 as 1" tweeter, but i don't know what's that mid-low speaker. It is 5". what' about VIFA's P13WH-00-08? ANY suggestion?? THANK YOU!!!

"Respondents who've heard XT25 and measured it tell me its distortion numbers could be lower and that it likes a high crossover frequency, more suited to a 3-way than a 2-way design"
is that true??
Hi taatoo

In speaker building, I'm pretty much a newbie too. Most newbies, including myself at one time, mistakenly think that they ought to come up with their own design for a DIY speaker. You may be a lot happier with your first efforts if you build a design that has already been tested and trouble-shot by someone more experienced.

I found reading articles at this web site were helpful for me:
http://www.speakerbuilder.net/web_files/default.htm. There are several projects listed there that have already been through the design and trial-and-error trouble shooting process. There a many other websites that offer other tested recipes for 2-way DIY speakers. I could name a few if you are interested.