T

trEs2b

Junior Audioholic
Im new to Home theater; I need help in narrowing down a few choices for 3 speakers (Left, Right, Center); I have 2 surrounds already nothing great

Im not sure what to audition to or buy and theres not many stores if any around here, i think the closest is a Best buy magnolia with B&W and other brand like that

I want to spend between 5,000 and up to 12,000 for 3 front speakers, 90% the sound that comes will be from netflix / amazon prime and blu ray movies; BTW: the speakers need to look COOL (wife approved )

T

trEs2b

Junior Audioholic
hopefully someone can give me several choices to pick from

XEagleDriver

XEagleDriver

Audioholic Chief
trEs2b,
Welcome to the forum.

With that healthy of a speaker budget you have lots of options.
- Plan to spend a healthy portion of your speaker budget on between one to four subwoofers (depending on your answer to question #1 below).
- You may want to consider planning to spenda couple $K less on speakers/subs and use the extra funds on acoustic room treatments.
- BB even with Magnolia has a very limited slice of the available options; and in general, I would not trust the advice of their sales force without independent verification through your own research and/or checking this or other audio forums. I am not saying they are dishonest, I am saying in most cases they are not very well trained/educated about quality audio.

Answering the following questions should help narrow the field of choices.
1) What is the size of the room and how many/where are the seats are you trying to provide a HT experience?
2) What are the room's features (windows, openings/doors, flooring type, cathederal ceiling, etc)
3) Do you/your wife have a preference for bookshelf speakers on stands or tower speakers?
4) Are you comfortable with internet direct (ID) purchases?