I need a good, versitile pair of headphones

Gatsby

Gatsby

Audiophyte
I am largely a speaker user, but I own a pair of Sony MDR-V600's for when I need to use headphones (when my roommate is asleep, going to class, etc). I've been using these pretty much nonstop for 2 years and they're starting to wear out. I only spent about $60 on these but I'm looking to invest a little more in my next pair (but I'd like to keep it under $200). The two pair that I'm considering are the Sennheiser HD590's and the AKG K270 Studios. My friends who use the Senn's praise them frequently, but I've never listened to them or the AKG's. (Not that it is important, but I really like the look of the AKG's). Also, for significantly less (half?), I saw the AKG K240S's. I know that these don't hold a candle to the 590's, but I've read that they are extremely versitile and great for the price. I'm not really sure how to go on this. One thing that is important is that I use a portable music device a lot so it's important that they not require too much power (I think). Thanks for any help.

S

Steve1000

Audioholic
As for the headphones you have listed, my subjective opinion is that you can do much better.

Most find the Sony MDR-V6s ($100?) or MDR-7506 ($100?) (same phone, but pro and consumer models) to be an astronomical improvement over the MDR-V600s. The V6 and 7506 is the industry-standard for monitoring. Many feel them to be quite accurate; there's no funny stuff going on to make them sound pretty.

Note: The Sony V6s and V600s are dramatically different headphones!