HTPC Audio - Xonar HDAV1.3 Slim

S

samhfoley

Audioholic
I am curious if there is a tutorial for setting up the Xonar to work with TotalMedia Theater 3 or Media PLayer Classic? I am new to this and don't know too much on the subject just yet. I have sound, but my Onkyo always just reads PCM and I have it on Multichannel. I never see other modes appear on the Onkyo such at DTS or Dolby True HD. Is this because I am watching .mkv stripped down files? When I look in TMT3 I always see the audio is listed as 2 channel for everything, never more. I just wonder whether I have my setting wrong or if it's kust the files I have chosen to play? Is there a file online I can download and play that would tell me if those other setting were working or not? Thanks in advance for your help!

-Sam

HTPC
ASUS M3N78-VM 4GB memory
Windows 7 32 bit
Xonar HDAV 1.3 Slim

Last edited:
jinjuku

jinjuku

How is the Xonar connected? Which model Onkyo?

Do you have any native Blu-Ray source?

S

samhfoley

Audioholic
The Xonar is connected ....

HTPC DVI video out to Xonar HDMI in
Xonar HDMI out to Onkyo TX-SA607 CBL/SAT HDMI IN port

No native Blu Ray source, no BR drive in the HTPC as of yet.

S

samhfoley

Audioholic
My Xonar setting are the same as this screenshot
http://imagestore.ugbox.net/aview/XonarSetti_fdb1ec53b1b794f1d5

My TMT 3.140 settings are the same as this screenshot
http://imagestore.ugbox.net/aview/TMT3Settin_83890e1f73ee5299007

If I play my Godfather 1 or 2 DVDs through WMC, WMC Classic, or TMT3 all the Onkyo shows on its display is PCM Multichannel HDMI Audessey (top row)

CBL Multichannel (2nd row)

I can see from the settings that this DVD should be in Dolby Digital (Godfather 1) and #2 is AC3, but I never get those to show up on the Onkyo. Do I need to change any settings on my HTPC, Motherboard, BIOS, etc... ANy help would be appreciated! Thanks.
-Sam

jinjuku

jinjuku