S

swank501

Audioholic Intern
Figure this is the best place to make my first post since I'm a total newb to this home theater gig.

Let me start out by saying that after 12 years of listening to music/TV/movies through a hand-me-down Aiwa bookshelf system, I'm due an upgrade. So, I figured I could just go down to the local Walmart, shell out a few bucks on their nicest HTIB and be on my way. I quickly learned that is not the way. I have been trolling around this website for about a week now trying to soak up as much as this info as possible and now feel like I have a basic foundation of knowledge on which I can build my system.

Here is what I already have:
42" HP Plasma HDMI ready
XBOX
Wii

Here is what I'm after:
I want a nice A/V Receiver with HDMI
I want to be able to have the home theater exp as well as be able to listen to music
I would like to minimize any extraneous hums hisses pops fizzes or otherwise annoying things that shouldn't be
I would like nice speakers, even if that means I start with a couple.

HDMI, as I undersand it, cleans up and simplifies the the final connection b/t the processor and TV all while providing the best signal quality poss? Am I missing anything? If I ran component from the XBOX, Could its signal then be passed by HDMI?

If I use a 1080 Upconverting DVD player, would all I need from the receiver is to pass the signal, or would it be better to find a receiver that upconverts as well?

Since I'm in college and don't bring home any real money, I have been seriously shopping around for sales so I can get my hands on some nice equipment that will last awhile. I have a small list of receivers that I found on clearance that are prob last year models or something:

Pioneer Elite VSX82TXS for about 600 (which is a bit out of my range, but sounds nice!)

Yamaha RXV1600 for about 350 which is right about what I would like to spend and sounds pretty nice as well