How much power is needed?

Tool34

Tool34

Audioholic Intern
I just read a review of the ELAC Uni-Fi speakers from another reputable website. According to their review the speakers are a great deal and sound amazing. And that has been the consensus on these speakers from every review I have read. However, this review indicated that "Extra Power" was needed to power these speakers.

I am fairly new to the audiophile community and have learned from the people on here who know WAY more than I that speakers is where you put the money. I am looking to get an A/V receiver in the next few months and these are the speakers that I want to add to go with my home theatre. According to Gene, he says when purchasing an A/V receiver make sure you have some pre-out so that you can add some more power if necessary. Sounds like that is the case with these speakers? With that being said, if I just go with an A/V receiver which brand is recommended? These speakers come with a 4ohm rating, so I'm thinking I need a receiver that has enough wattage to push these speakers?

I'm not trying to cut corners, but I have heard these speakers on a Demo, and I wasn't sure what equipment was pushing them, and I'm trying to stay within a budget of $5000 with speakers, Receiver, projector and screen. Any input would be appreciated. Thanks guys!

Chad

everettT

everettT

Audioholic Spartan
Which model number? How large is your room and seating distance to the mains? You will need amplification that can handle a 4 ohm load.

S

shadyJ

Speaker of the House
Staff member
They may be a fairly low sensitivity speaker that also have low resistance. If so, yeah, you might want an outboard amplifier rather than use the AVR's amp. Then again, this depends entirely on how loud you like to listen to stuff. If you don't intend to blast it, a simple AVR amp might suffice. However, if you are looking for THX reference level sound in your home theater, you will want to look at other types of speakers.

lsiberian