How connect cable coaxial to receiver

B

bypasscable

Audiophyte
Total newbie here...

I have a Yamaha RX V663 Receiver that is connected to plasma screen via a HDMI Cable. The HDMI goes thru the wall so I can't remove it without doing a major remodel.

Question: I have basic cable via coaxial and I want to watch it on the plasma. I cannot connect the coaxial to my TV directly. What are my most economical options? Can I connect directly to my receiver if not what other devices can I purchase as a work around? My cable company charges approx. $100/yr just to use their cable box so I would like to find a more economical long term alternative.

Thanks!

TLS Guy

TLS Guy

Seriously, I have no life.
Total newbie here...

I have a Yamaha RX V663 Receiver that is connected to plasma screen via a HDMI Cable. The HDMI goes thru the wall so I can't remove it without doing a major remodel.

Question: I have basic cable via coaxial and I want to watch it on the plasma. I cannot connect the coaxial to my TV directly. What are my most economical options? Can I connect directly to my receiver if not what other devices can I purchase as a work around? My cable company charges approx. $100/yr just to use their cable box so I would like to find a more economical long term alternative.

Thanks!
Sorry, but you will need to use their cable box.

highfigh

highfigh

Seriously, I have no life.
You need something with a TV tuner, not necessarily the cable box. This needs to be made within the last 5 years, though. If it's much older, it won't work with any digital cable signal.

M

markw

Audioholic Overlord
You need something with a TV tuner, not necessarily the cable box. This needs to be made within the last 5 years, though. If it's much older, it won't work with any digital cable signal.
He would be wise to check this out with his service provider before investing money in such a device.