How can I divert the lower frequencies to the sub?

L

Larkston Zinaspic

Enthusiast
I'm kind of new to the sub thing, but I'm looking to crossover at about 40-60Hz and relieve the mains of bass the sub will be handling. I'm using separates for music without bass management. What's the best way to do this? No one seems to recommend running the speakers and sub in series, so I'm wondering how everyone else does it.

E

edmcanuck

Audioholic
If you're running separates without bass management, then you have to run the speaker feeds through the sub and use its crossover. You'll want to cross it over higher than that though... 60Hz would be the lowest crossover I'd consider in a standard system. 80Hz is the standard.

mike c

mike c

Audioholic Warlord
for 40-60hz what you really need is an external crossover. something like the behringer crossovers. problem is, many audiophiles complain that a unit like that "changes" the sound of the speakers.

most built in low pass crossovers of subwoofers are fixed at 80hz, for example, you feed your subwoofer the full range signal, connect your speakers to the speaker level outputs, and then you have relieved your speakers of 80hz and below. <- this is the simplest solution

another option for you is to look at hsuresearch.com, I think they have some bass management stuff.

and yet another option is to buy an fmod crossover (that's IF you have a separate preamp and amp setup) <- this fmod looks just like an RCA jack, except longer

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi
If you're running separates without bass management, then you have to run the speaker feeds through the sub and use its crossover. You'll want to cross it over higher than that though... 60Hz would be the lowest crossover I'd consider in a standard system. 80Hz is the standard.