Home Theater: need advice what to buy

J

JoeSchmoe

I am new to this and may not even know all he lingo, but I am trying to buy some components to set up a home theater system in my family room. I'll leave the TV purchase for later (I already have a crappy one). Here's what I think I need: receiver, DVD player, speakers. Cost is a serious consideration for me.

Speakers: I narrowed down my choices to Cambridge Soundworks Movieworks line (set of 5 speakers and a sub). They are reasonably priced and I don't think I will hear the difference between them and more expensive speakers. Are they any good?

Receiver: No idea what to get. I'd like a surround sound capability. I guess a DTS or Dolby Digital model. Also, I have in-wall speakers in 3 more rooms in addition to the family room. I'd like to be able to control them each (on/off) separately. Do I need a multi-room receiver or a cheaper option is the switch box? Any advice on inexpensive model?

DVD player: I also have room limitations. Here's what I want my DVD player to do: progressive scan, play all formats of recordable DVD's, play MP3's, plays CD-Rs, -RWs and CDs. I was thinking of the DVD/VCR unit to save space. Some comments I read said many of those have poor CD displays (no track info, limited features). I'd like this DVD unit to serve as primary CD player for my home audio, so I need a good CD display. Any advice on that?

Also, some units have outlets for a surround sound system built-in. Do I need those if I use the receiver? Isn't that an overkill? what outlets do I need?

And finally, my entertainment center has only two open slots and the rest are behind wooden doors. How do I set it up to use the remote control while keeping the doors closed? I assume two open slots would be used for cable box/dish box and DVD player. This means the receiver is behind the doors. What to do about that?

G

Gatorchong

Audioholic