Home theater / audio

F

ferbeau

Audiophyte
Hi all
Just became a member....
I just moved to NYC from South America. I bought a 50" Samsung Smart TV, and I would like now to set up a good audio system for my living room.
My idea is to set up a home theater (5.1 or better), with a good receiver.
As I am a beginner in all this, I was wondering if I could receive some help to figure out what couls be the best option.
My idea is to go beyond the average brands (I would like to go for something like Yamaha, Denon, Onkyo, etc), and of course good speakers as well. Is it worth it to have something with 4K?
Also, Is SONOS a good brand? I know it works with no cables, but....

Thanks to you all!!!

BoredSysAdmin

BoredSysAdmin

Audioholic Slumlord
First easy one : Regarding 4k or UHD. http://carltonbale.com/does-4k-resolution-matter/

As for other questions :
What's your total budget? Please let us adjust what goes where.
How big is the room? Is it opens up to other rooms / spaces if so what is total volume?

Sonos systems are very easy to setup and work well, though i never heard sonos speakers. Someone recently mentioned that sonos subwoofer is nothing to write home about

F

ferbeau

Audiophyte
I was thinking about $1,500 aprox, but if it's worth it, I would think about not buying everything together...
My living room is about 200sqft, aprox 20' x 10'
thanks!

Last edited:
BoredSysAdmin

BoredSysAdmin

Audioholic Slumlord
Philarmonic audio AA for 5.0. Hsu vtf2 sub. Amazon Warehouse deals for Denon x1000 or x1100w avr

Grassy

Grassy

Full Audioholic
I was thinking about $1,500 aprox, but if it's worth it, I would think about not buying everything together...
My living room is about 200sqft, aprox 20' x 10'
thanks!