Help with SI 18" sealed

S

Shrader

Audioholic
Noob here, I am planning a another sub build, I am ordering (2) 18" SI subs for two separate 21" sealed cabinets. The question i have is, do I order the d2 or d4 subs, and what would you guys recommend for an amp? I built a CSS trio 12, but that was more or less a kit, need to know what wiring i will need from my Denon 7.1 receiver to the amp, and what I will need from the amp to the subs? this is a low budget build, so what amp is the best bang for the buck? the amp will be in a closet so to speak, so not worried about fan noise, also how much power to each of the subs? Thanks for any advice guys!

rojo

rojo

Audioholic Samurai
Are you talking about Stereo Integrity HT18? Cool. Those look like great drivers. Are you wanting one amp to drive both subs? If so, get the dual 4Ω voice coil drivers and wire them up as 2Ω per cabinet. Then run both cabinets as stereo on a 2-ohm-stable amp. The Behringer iNuke 1000 (or the one with the DSP) is nice if you want to connect amp to speakers using Speakon cables; or... well, that's the best budget solution, really. You'll need Speakon cables and terminals for your boxes. To connect from AVR to amps... well, someone correct me if I'm wrong, but I think you can just use an RCA -> 1/4" TRS cable. If you want to be able to control each sub's volume, you'll need a splitter somewhere to split the LFE signal from the AVR into two TRS plugs, then run the amp as stereo.

On the other hand, if you want one amp per sub, get the dual 2Ω voice coil drivers and wire them up as 4Ω per cabinet. Then run one sub per amp in bridged mode. You'll get more power this way, but it's also more expensive.

FWIW, 500 watts is more than plenty in my 2300 ft³ room, and my CSS sub has a much lower sensitivity than this SI sub. I think you'd be fine just getting one amp and driving the subs in joint stereo config.