Help with first purchase- P4s?

J

jaesung

Enthusiast
Hi, I stumbled upon these forums and thought this would be the best place to seek advice.

I knew next to nothing 3 days ago and after a lot of reading I am leaning heavily towards purchasing the Audioengine P4s.

I like these because of the small size (they should fit nicely on my desk) and the fact that they are passive gives me the option to use them in a surround set up later in life. They seemed to have positive reviews across the board.

I will be using these mainly for music at my computer.

Concerns and questions:
-I have heard they are a bit too "bright" for near-field listening. What exactly does that mean.. bright? (I am a noob still). If it means anything I won't always be in front of my computer, but around in my small room.

-My budget is 200-300 for the speakers only. Is there any other speaker that I should seriously consider?

Notes:
-I don't care about bass too much since I have my ATH-M50s headphones for that
-budget only includes speakers, I will have a separate but small budget for the amp

J

jaesung

Enthusiast
For $300, these are what I would buy...but you might not have room for them on your desk:

I don't know much about specifications, but if these are better than the P4s these seem amazing! Thank you for the suggestion but as fortune has it, I live in Canada, where they apparently do not ship to. :(

For near-field listening, why not get speakers designed for near-field listening?

Don't even need an amp.
I appreciate your suggestion too! However these do not seem to meet my criteria of passive speakers. Furthermore, I am not seeking specifically near-field listening speakers as I would want to listen away from my computer as well.

Again, could someone explain what it means for speakers to be a bit too "bright"?
And does anyone else support my P4 purchase or do you have other strong substitutes?

Thanks again audioholics!

jonnythan

jonnythan

Audioholic Ninja