jaxvon

jaxvon

Audioholic Ninja
A call to all the recording engineers out there, and all those who aren't but know what they're doing.

Okay, I'm looking at getting into the field, if just as a hobby. I have a class right now at college where I compose electronic music, record it, etc. I mix on my phones (MDR-7506s), but when I put it over the Genelecs, it sounds...not so good. I realize speaker placement and acoustics are part of the issue, but are there any general rules of thumb when it comes to mixing on phones in a way that it will sound good over speakers?

M

MDS

Audioholic Spartan
I am not a professional and what I do is more akin to 'mastering' than mixing, but I've read alot on the topic. I think the general rule is to not use headphones exclusively for mixing unless you intend to only listen to your mix on headphones.

You need to get the mix right before you get to the mastering stage. At the mastering stage, headphones are invaluable for hearing the subtle details. I use them to ensure that my fades are smooth, to check for backround noise that may need to be removed or if I have to fix glitches in the audio that any cross-fades or editing I've done transition smoothly and the click or pop is no longer audible.

Anyway, a good read you might be interested in is 'Mastering Audio: The Art and the Science, by Bob Katz. Bob Katz is a well known recording/mixing/mastering engineer (Steely Dan and many others). He does discuss mixing as well. Being a student of this stuff, you might find it useful. His web site is: http://www.digido.com.

WmAx

WmAx

Audioholic Samurai
jaxvon said:
A call to all the recording engineers out there, and all those who aren't but know what they're doing.