Peppy

Peppy

Junior Audioholic
I need to change my main speaker, I had a pair of JBL HLS 820, Great speaker for movie, but they have been damage by water in Sept when my home theater had a minor flood. :( Sad but lucky because this is the only thing I lost in my equipement. Now I am looking to probably replace them by a pair of AXIOM M60ti. I been a home theater fan for many year I read every month about it, and come in this web page regulary , but I have aI have a question that most of you will find basic ...don't laugh... on the back of the AXIOM M60ti you have 2 pair of binding post ? :confused: What for ? :confused: I am not a expert in home theater, but I thought I knew all the basic after so many years :cool: Can any one shade so light in my little brain ? Thanks

Karp

Karp

Audioholic
The duel binding posts are there so that the speaker may either be bi-amped or bi-wired. You can the speaker wires to either set, but make sure the other set is clamped down tightly against the metal that connects the two together.

Peppy

Peppy

Junior Audioholic
Karp said:
The duel binding posts are there so that the speaker may either be bi-amped or bi-wired. You can the speaker wires to either set, but make sure the other set is clamped down tightly against the metal that connects the two together.
So my speaker cable from my Denon can go on any one set or I can split in it to go in both ? and what bi-wired do ?

Thanks Karp

Karp

Karp

Audioholic
Splitting it would not help anything and could make for a worse connection. Bi-wiring would mean that you are using two sets of speaker cable from the same speaker output terminals on the receiver to each of the two sets of speaker terminals. This just gives you an effectively higher gauge connection. While it won't hurt anything, it probably won't help unless you are using thin wires such as 24 gauge on a long run.